crystal systems

Individual Crystal Systems and the Axial System

The crystal system is a grouping of crystal structures that are categorized according to the axial system used to describe their atomic "lattice" structure. A crystal's lattice is a three dimensional network of atoms that are arranged in a symmetrical pattern.

Each crystal system consists of a set of three crystallographic axes (a, b, and c) in a particular geometrical arrangement. The seven unique crystal systems, listed in order of decreasing symmetry, are: 1. Isometric System, 2. Hexagonal System, 3. Tetragonal System, 4. Rhombohedric (Trigonal) System, 5. Orthorhombic System, 6. Monoclinic System, 7. Triclinic System.

Title Filter      Display #  
# Article Title Hits
1 Cubic-system 3273
2 Hexagonal System 3304
3 Tetragonal System 3468
4 Trigonal System 3447
5 Orthorhombic System 3181
6 Monoclinic System 3238
7 Triclinic System 3294